Holiday mischief and greeting card virus scams

‘Tis the season to get your computer buggered. Today I got another one of my annual “You Have A Postcard”. Interestingly enough the link doesn’t go to Hallmark but goes to http://90.156.144.70/postcard.scr?

If you are using Linux or Windows7 this won’t be a problem but on older Windows machines it can be malicious. In case you are not familiar with the .scr filename extension it is a script file and can be executed on your computer just by clicking it – DO NOT CLICK ANY LINK WITH .EXE or .SCR unless you know exactly what you are getting.

More info on .scr files http://filext.com/file-extension/scr

Here is the email you may receive – or something similar:

Hello there. You’ve got a?postcard from someone who cares for you. In order to downoad your postcard, click on the link below:
http://www.hallmark.com/postcards/client72635271

?Thank you for using Hallmark services.

?Regards, Hallmark?
?www.hallmark.com

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Improve the web with Nofollow Reciprocity.